A car crash in Louisiana injured two people and left another one dead on November 14. The driver of the vehicle involved in the accident was apprehended and charged with driving while intoxicated and several other crimes.
According to police, the accident happened at about 12:38 a.m. near Lake Arthur. The 29-year-old male driver of a 2004 Toyota truck lost control of the vehicle while travelling north on Broadmore Road not far from Trailer Town Road. He overcorrected, which resulted in the truck flipping over. A 26-year-old male passenger was pronounced dead at the crash site. Another passenger and the driver sustained injuries.
Charges against the driver were DWI, careless operation, failure to wear a seat belt, vehicular negligent injuring and vehicular homicide. The passenger who died was not wearing a seat belt when the car crash occurred.
After the accident, state police issued a news release in which they stated that eight people had been charged with DWI the previous night. The authorities said that they will continue to work to remove impaired drivers from the roads, and asked that citizens help by not allowing friends who have been drinking to take the wheel.
Louisiana has a primary seat belt law that requires drivers and all passengers over the age of 13 to wear a seat belt. A primary seat belt law means that police can charge someone for not wearing a seat belt even if there are no other charges being rendered at the time. The law in Louisiana applies to passengers in the front and back seats. Not wearing a seat belt while riding in or driving a car in Louisiana can result in a $25 fine on a first offense. Even those who wear their seat belts can be seriously injured in a car accident. A victim may seek compensation for medical expenses and more if a negligent driver caused the accident.
Source: KPLC, “Lake Arthur man charged following deadly crash,” Nov 14, 2015
Source: Governors Highway Safety Association, “Seat Belt Laws,” Accessed Nov 22, 2015